I'm going to be in Vero Beach, FL

CrookedToast

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7B
Howdy folks, I'm still pretty new to the art, but have hung around the Albuquerque Bonsai Club now for about a year.

I'll be in Vero Beach, FL (in-laws live there) for about a week and am curious where I ought to go to have a look at some cool nursery stock. I suppose I'd have the nursery ship it to me back in New Mexico if I bought anything, but figured I'd at least have a look in person! I've never been to a bonsai-geared nursery.

Thanks!
J

--------Edit---------

I've seen a fair amount about Jim Smith's Dura Stone Nursery, though I can't seem to find his website. Given that it's directly located in Vero, it seems I could make that one happen easier than I could anything that requires significant driving time. Anyone have experience at this nursery?

Last edited:

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
@aml1014 might have some stuff better for your climate than Florida...

Sorry...Welcome to Crazy! There's 2 dope trees in a contest.....ahem....
Sweep that under the rug for now...ahem...

Anyway....

Unless you got a greenhouse.....
Or weather I'm unaware of....
Or somehow think you're NOT going to fall in love with some shit you shouldn't in Florida and find yourself in a world of hurt needing to go from 0 to able to take care of it....

Satiate your need in your Climate first.

Blow your bonsai budget at home first!

@AaronThomas is back...
@abqjoe ...
@PiñonJ
@milehigh_7

Talk with these people about excellent appropriate stock for you before you fall in love with some big bottom girl in Florida.

IMO.

Sorce

miker

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
Agreed with Sorce! ^^^