Im new to bonsai and looking for tips

88mkiii

Sapling
Reaction score
Ok im new to bonsai, and i understand the basic idea and know you can bonsai just about any tree bush or shrub. How ever there are things i cant find out no matter how much i search the web. Ok to start i have 3 wild picked Texas loblolly pine trees i want to bonsai that are about 2 inches tall. im also trying to sprout some honey mesquite trees. my question is how to i trim the roots and cut the top off of the trees so the trunks can grow WITHOUT killin the trees? oh and how do ppl get their bonsai's to grow on rocks like the one in the photo well i have alot of questions

jse_001.jpg

my pines

100_4427.jpg

bonsaibp

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
No cutting the top or anything for that matter for several years. Try thinking about getting larger material (1-5 gallon size) and making it smaller rather taking a seedling and growing it out to the point where it's big enough to make small.

GrimLore

Bonsai Nut alumnus... we miss you
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
We have seedlings growing in a large variety of pots and honest they will make some really nice "TINY" displays in a few more years. You are far better to get a larger specimen, perhaps a Juniper and learn cutting and styling as your seedlings grow. There are a lot of larger hardwoods that sell dirt cheap at places like Home Depot at end of season, winter them and learn on them in the Spring - you will have fun, learn a lot, and at the same time gain the knowledge needed to keep your seedlings alive.:cool:

There are a lot of root over rock demos on youtube, I find combining the different methods works well.

Dav4

Drop Branch Murphy
Reaction score
SE MI- Bonsai'd for 12 years both MA and N GA
USDA Zone
6a