Info needed fast, please!

cishepard

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I have the opportunity to collect four large 40yr. old boxwoods if I go and dig them tomorrow. I have not seen them yet to evaluate for bonsai potential but am going on the premise that there will be some! My questions are concerned with the best way to treat them in the immediate future. I will only have myself and my son to dig them by hand, and I am in the PacNW (Nanaimo, Vancouver Is. Canada) - it will be sunny and in the mid 50’s for temp. tomorrow. Winters here are reliably similar to Seattle.

Should I dig as big a root ball as possible and replant in the ground? (hardest option)
Can I go with a smaller root ball, if there are enough feeder roots, trim some top growth and put in the ground? (second hardest)
Can I trim roots back quite a bit right away and put in a training box or large basket? (easier)
Or maybe just whack them back to bonsai size, roots and all ... (wishful thinking)

I am new to bonsai, and have a small collection in training - including some boxwoods, all from this year. I am wintering them by sinking the pots and baskets in a bed and mulching with leaves. Any advice welcome, especially regarding the large boxwoods - the owner is expecting them gone tomorrow!
Thanks in advance.

IMG_0871.jpeg

Last edited:

cbroad

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
How large are the plants?

Luckily boxwoods are shallow rooted and can be successfully moved this time of year.

cbroad

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Best option would be to get as much of the roots as possible and replant in the ground. The roots should definitely be protected though, even if that means just using mulch. The size of the plant and the amount of roots will determine if any foliage needs to be cut off.

cbroad

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a