Inherited Plants

macfreeman7

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
Hello friends,

Glad to be here! I just wanted to introduce myself and my situation with bonsai. I will definitely be in need of the discussion generated around here.

I graduated in horticulture just a few months ago from a state university. I have always been interested in plants, even as a child. I now work in the landscape contracting industry and enjoy it a lot.

Although I have taken lots of different hort classes and researched much on my own, I have no experience with bonsai. This is partially due to the fact that a college lifestyle is not conducive to bonsai nor is it financially feasible.

However, several days ago I inherited 10 bonsai from my grandfather who is in hospice care. He is very old and is preparing for the final stages of life. I consider it an absolute honor to care for his bonsai. We recently spent an hour going over some of his books, but since he is ill, I can't talk with him at length about all the ins and outs of caring for them.

The bonsai are in terrible condition. They have been moved, neglected, and thrown around for the past year. My grandmother passed away several months ago, so they have not been the priority. They have bad mealybug infestations, 75% defoliated, dry as a bone...

Last night I put them all in the bathtub and soaked the soil. I then sprayed off the mealybugs with water and hit them all with horticultural oil.

Here is the problem; for one thing I can't identify all of them. Secondly, I live in a basement apartment with very filtered indirect light and cool temperatures. Can bonsai thrive in these conditions? I intend on bringing in a humidifier.

I plan to post some pictures. I welcome any and all advice. I will have plenty of questions!

Thank you so much!

coppice

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6-A
Welcome MFM,

Amending your profile to note where you live will help with determining which trees can go outdoors (if any) year round.