Initial styling of a procumbens juniper

WyldStallyn

Seedling
Reaction score
So here's a tree I got from Jason Schley at Schley's Bonsai in Deland, FL. I'm a beginner, have only been doing bonsai for about four months now. Bonsai isn't so popular in Mississipi but I do live close to a local enthusiast and he has helped me tremendously.

This is my first all out style on a halfway decent piece of material. Now I just need a lot of back budding. Here are some profession pics from when I first got it all the way through to fine wiring. Constructive criticism welcome!

image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I would move (not remove yet) everything above the second branch up. Let light get down to those first 2 branches, as that's where your final tree resides to me !

Nice Job. Welcome to Crazy!

Sorce

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Yeah, that second branch would become my new apex eventually, it's got a lot going for it. Mobility, branching, taper.

Sorce

barrosinc

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
Is that aluminum wire? it seems a bit thin for those branches. Does it hold well enough?

WyldStallyn

Seedling
Reaction score
Is that aluminum wire? it seems a bit thin for those branches. Does it hold well enough?
It is aluminum, yes. It holds well enough for now. Wanted to just put basic structure on it.

WyldStallyn

Seedling
Reaction score
Here's an update on this sucker after about 7 months of growing. Filling in nicely, I think. Haven't done anything to it except feed and water since I wired it. Going to let it grow this season and reassess in the fall regarding design. If anyone has any good ideas, throw them at me!

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    420.2 KB · Views: 260

KennedyMarx

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a