Introduction... and I went shopping.

Mr. Square

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
Hello folks.

I'm a complete newb regarding bonsai; fair warning. I'm 56, live in the Fresno CA area (9b) and have toyed with the idea of getting into bonsai many times over the years. Well my wife scoped out my internet history and bought me some tools and other items to get the party started. I have a great wife! Now I find much of my time is spent here reading.

I have been looking for material to play with, but nothing really spoke to me. Today I was at a largely defunct nursery and found the following items. I'll try to post pics below. If you see them then it worked, if not it didn't.

2x Ginkgo Biloba Tublform each about 6' tall
1x Japanese Maple (no idea what type) about 5' tall
1x Japanese Maple (?) about 4' tall
1x Taxus Cuspidata/Japanese Yew about 12" tall

No idea what I will do with any of themso, your input is welcome. If I've made poor choices, or chosen poor examples your input is appreciated.

I spent $140 for the entire lot.

Let the games begin.

Ginkgo "A" base

Ginkgo "B" base

Japanese Maple Base
01-02-2020 Japanese Maple.jpg

Leo in N E Illinois

The Professor
Reaction score
on the IL-WI border, a mile from ''da Lake''
USDA Zone
5b