Is this indoor grow light overkill?

Kynewt

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I have 6 indoor bonsai(all vary in size) that i was looking to give a more lighting. They all sit on a 46” coffee table up against the window. Im currently on an east facing window on the second floor so i don’t receive much direct sunlight.

I saw this on amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Vander-Doubl...00w&qid=1596483800&sprefix=vader+grow+&sr=8-3

would a light this intense fry my trees? I know nothing about indoor lighting. I’m just looking to not make my bill skyrocket and something that produces little heat. If this is a good choice how far away should it be from my plants?

MHBonsai

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
There is a HUGE variety of lights out there these days - it is super daunting selecting the right LED lighting for indoor growing. I've been growing bonsai over winters in a grow tent for the last 3 years with similar lights.

This will be VERY bright inside a home. And the light will be a very odd unpleasant pink/blue. Unless you will never be in the area while it is on, it will be too much for a standard indoor space. It likely won't be too loud or too hot, and power draw you probably won't even notice if you aren't running more than 12 hours a day.

That being said, I wouldn't select this light. Look for one that has some real light data included showing the light spectrum and the actual levels that it is providing. Slightly higher level brands will give you a ton more science that will help you get a product that makes you happy. Without this info, there's no way to tell what you are really getting. Compare to this one:

MHBonsai

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
And to answer your question - no it's not overkill in my opinion for 6 trees. I'd keep it 24" or so away from them, as a baseline. Light is exponential, the closer you get to the light source the more powerful it is...so just keep it higher if the leaves are burning. I doubt it'd be a problem. :D