Is this tree good for start

Rangaweera

Seed
Reaction score
hi All,
I can get the following tree for bonsai. I'm very new to this.

My question are;
is that a good base for the bonsai tree?
if this is good, what Type of cuttings you all recommended for this tree?

bonsai.jpg

Eckhoffw

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
4b
hi All,
I can get the following tree for bonsai. I'm very new to this.

My question are;

View attachment 460179
Is that a Fukien tea tree?
Either way I’ll say no.
Taperless stump is not great. Another chop to top branch would improve it.
If It is a Fukien tree, I would be more concerned about keeping it alive than making cuttings.
I’d pass…. Unless I saw it discarded in the skip. I may still pass.

Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
For an award winning bonsai, no, but for valuable lessons in how to keep alive, feed, prune, chop, wire, yes - assuming it’s free!

When I first got into bonsai I got absolutely every bit of material available to me.

Eckhoffw

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
4b
^^^ very good point. When I first got into the hobby, I was digging up anything in the alley I could practice on. So even though I would pass, may be a great tree to learn some things.
Still curious as to what it is. ?

Ininaatigoons

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
Put it in a grow pot or box at an angle with leader on the right a little back and to the left. Chop the left branch and stump. Leave a half inch to the stump and carve out once it's entirely dried/died back. Wire the remaining leader to put some movement in. Let the main leader grow until it's at least half as thick as the main trunk. Wire the 1st branch in a way that you can hide the future scar. Let the lowest branch on the leader grow to become 1st branch. Chop the Leader another 1/3rd up the tree for second branch and new leader after attaining desired thickness. Then 1/3 after second branch repeat for back branch. Then repeat as you start to ramify the top.