Jabily / Elephant tree

hemmy

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Does anyone have a female plant? I would love to cross my male plant for seeds. I can trade male established root cuttings.

DKBonsai

Seed
Reaction score
I would love some advice about what to do with mine. I'm a novice at bonsai. I know how to keep them alive but not much beyond that. This one is probably about 3-5 years old (maybe??). 20230916_103212.jpg

hemmy

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I would love some advice about what to do with mine. I'm a novice at bonsai.
Enjoy it as a houseplant? If so, you could trim it up like a topiary. Remove all the short lower trunk growth. Cut the main leader some where and cut the branches all back to a couple inches from the trunk. Let the lower branches of the canopy grow longer and the prune the top harder for a triangle shape. Each time you prune it adds movement and will ramify and backbud for denser branching.

IMG_5422.jpeg

hemmy

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I would love some advice about what to do with mine. I'm a novice at bonsai.
If you something that looks more like a traditional bonsai form you could wire and cut the trunk back for taper or just chop low. Then regrow sections of the trunk with some movement and taper.

I have done hard chops during the outside growing season. I don’t know how an inside grown one will respond. Yours looks healthier than my patio plant version that moved inside last winter.

apedzink

Seed
Reaction score