gustakasn0v

Seedling
Reaction score
Hi BonsaiNut crowd,

Hoping to get some help from you as a new Bonsai owner. I’ve been growing this JBP from seed since Aug 2021, repotted in March 2022 as the roots were outgrowing the tiny seedling pot. It’s been healthy this entire time, but I went on holiday last Friday and came back Sunday to find the top needles and some of the bottom ones browning from the center outward. There was lots of sun and low temperatures that weekend, but I didn’t worry about watering as typically the big pot can hold lots of water.

Some details about the site:
- South-facing windowsill in London. Sunlight is an issue of course, but so far it hasn’t seemed to cause problems and south-facing means it gets a good chunk whatever sunlight there is throughout the day
- Temperature is usually 21-23C, there’s a radiator nearby (a meter away) but it’s usually off, but it did turn on about two weeks ago due to the cold.
- I haven’t left the pine outside. I just read some threads suggesting JBPs don’t do well indoors, perhaps that’s a problem?

I’ve read some of the other threads around this, some of the things I’ve considered, I may be wrong though :
- Fungus: unlikely because I don’t see any spots in the needles, they’re browning from the center outward instead of banding, and there’s 2 other identically aged trees around it unaffected
- Under/overwatering: the pot is large with (what I think is) appropriate drainage, and I follow a weather-based watering schedule from the Planta app. I’m thinking over-watering but can’t be sure unless I inspect the roots for root rot I guess
- Fertilising: the kit i bought the seeds with comes with liquid fertiliser to be diluted, and suggests that on early stages I should fertilise them every two weeks. I’m wondering if this tree is no longer at that early stage and if it’s instead getting overwatered and getting root rot