Japanese Green Maple Trunk Chop

QuantumSparky

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
I just picked up this Japanese Maple from Home Depot for...10 dollars. That seems a bit ridiculous considering the fact that I've seen countless green leaf Acer palmatum being sold for a bare minimum of $175 for similar size.

20210705_170903.jpgInked20210705_170856_LI.jpg

This is my first maple and I was planning on keeping it in the original pot until February, at which point I would repot it since it seems to be a bit root bound. As you could guess from the photo, I want to do a trunk chop. Red line is chop spot, blue dots are buds. I think I picked a decent tree out of the 4 available since this one has plenty of growth down low, below the chop point. However since this is my first attempt at anything like this, I could use some guidance.

1) Timeline: Would it be correct to do the repot in February, wait a year, and do the trunk chop the following February? I'm guessing I shouldn't do the chop immediately after repotting it.
2) Location: Is the line in my photo a good spot to chop? I'm not sure how much extra to leave in case of die-back.

Paradox

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
You can repot and chop it at the same time with maples. In fact people often do it at the same time because working the roots at the same time can slow down excessive sap bleeding.. You've got some good options for new leaders so that is good.

February might be a bit early. Watch the tree and do this work just as the buds start to swell.
Should be March in your area

Colorado

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
I’d chop it now if it were me. Your proposed chop location looks fine.

Get the roots sorted out spring 2022 and let it grow wild all year.

Should be ready for more work up top in 2023.

10 bucks…nice!

QuantumSparky

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b