Japanese Maple Bloodgood Mature Tree

Reaction score
Hi everybody,

Love BonsaiNut and all the information that can be found here. I'm a beginner looking to get into the bonsai world. At this point, I have a couple of Tamarind seedlings started from 0, a Ficus Microcarpa that I have received as a gift and a Ficus Benjamina Kinky, a small one that I've bought from a local DIY store. I also have 100 Chinese Elms seeds that I keep in my fridge for stratification and I don't know if I should plant them as now I have much more information and I understand that planting them into containers and not in the ground will take tens of years to develop a trunk.

Today I found a mature Japanese Maple Bloodgood tree at a local nursery and I was wondering what you guys think about it. Will it be a good starting point? Which are the next steps, I think that the trunk is thick enough?

Thank you for your help!

Vlad

Attachments

• Image-1.jpg
    Image-1.jpg
    333.3 KB · Views: 211
Reactions: Vin

RobertB

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
It looks good to me. Nice taper. Lots of branches. I would jump on it for a decent price.

garywood

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Vlad, in the beginnings of bonsai, one of the more important things to look at is characteristics, of not only species and cultivars but individual trees. When you are looking, look for leaf size, bud size, how fine the twigging is, internode length and petiole. This is a starting point for deciduous but will give you and estimation of how suitable a given tree will be for the finished tree that you see . In the end, it's your choice

Reaction score
The truth is that I don't know what to look for at this point to find a good tree. I have ordered 5 books after a good research, that I think that will greatly help me. I'm also looking to buy Bonsai Techniques from John Naka but I have some issues here. Where I have found great prices (like $250 for both books), they don't deliver to my location.