Japanese Maple Forest Planting

Drew

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
So I've been growing these plants for a while to put in a group some of there nebari's have turned out quite well. It will be a shame to cut them up to fit them closer together:

IMG_1841.jpg
IMG_1842.jpg
IMG_1844.jpg
IMG_1845.jpg

WNC Bonsai

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Last year this time (3/11/18 to be exact) I did such a planting at a workshop with trees leafed out about that much. Started with 5 trees and a couple months later was down to 3. Those 3 are still alive but I still believe the other 2 died because they had bud out too far for the extensive root pruning we did to get them to fit together. If you proceed make sure to keep them out of any wind and intense sun until they recover. Misting may also help. I am not a malpe expert but this year I am taking them in at night and keep them in a protected location during the day.

August44

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5-6
I see disaster coming for you if you do that. I think you're asking way to much from those trees if you stuff them into that pot. Trees are to big and you're to late to even begin to try that this year. Nice trees that I would not take a chance with. Just my opinion. Peter

Bolero

Omono
Reaction score
Use a good sized Slab and add a few smaller Maples to give some Context, some Background Rock, plenty of Moss and you will have a Show Stopper...Good work.....

Drew

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I have a polytunnel so should be able to protect them in there, they should be fine. The pot is 67c x 45cm

bonsaidave

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
because they had bud out too far for the extensive root pruning we did to get them to fit together. If you proceed make sure to keep them out of any wind and intense sun until they recover. Misting may also help.

100% agree with this. Only time I lose maples is when I repot them when they look like these pictures. Playing with fire on a windy day here.

Good Luck @Drew