Japanese maple leaves turning black

Japonicus

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
DSC_6158.JPGDSC_6159.JPGDSC_6160.JPGDSC_6162.JPG
I sprayed this Katsura a week or so ago with copper. Will repeat tomorrow and add Infuse granules.
Verticilliam wilt? Tree is planted in ground for bonsai not mulched.

Firstflush

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
3-4
I’m not a JM expert by any means, but it appears to me to be chemical burn. Katsura is one of the more delicate maples, right? Your mix could have too concentrated for that particular tree. Also, if you sprayed during the day with the sun out, it could of exacerbated the situation.

General horticultural best practices indicate spraying should be done in the morning or evening to avoid full sun on the leaves in addition to presence of pesticides, fungicides etc...(even with inert organic sprays)......many would disagree.

In my experience, spraying out of direct sun is most important with soaps and horticultural oils.

Japonicus

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
I’m not a JM expert by any means, but it appears to me to be chemical burn. Katsura is one of the more delicate maples, right? Your mix could have too concentrated for that particular tree. Also, if you sprayed during the day with the sun out, it could of exacerbated the situation.

General horticultural best practices indicate spraying should be done in the morning or evening to avoid full sun on the leaves in addition to presence of pesticides, fungicides etc...(even with inert organic sprays)......many would disagree.

In my experience, spraying out of direct sun is most important with soaps and horticultural oils.
All my trees got the spray. The Katsura in ground is the one I cut these leaves from.
The Katsura I potted up is fine ATM, as well as the shirasawanum in ground and potted up same time as the other Katsura.

DSC_6163.JPG
Sorry to picture the weeds, been off work 6 months with a bad back.