Japanese Maple Progression

Gert

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
This is a Japanese maple I've been growing since 2015. I got it from Evergreen Gardenworks as a pencil thin sapling in a 4 inch container.

In the black and white image from 2017, you can see the secondary trunk. This was destroyed by an inaccurate paper boy. He made the styling choice for me. . .

I had been growing it in pots letting it run every year to thicken. In winter 2020 I finally made some cutbacks as I liked the base of the tree.

I left a pretty large stub which you'll see at the top of the repotting photo from this year and then cut this back at an angle in May of 2021. The callous is rolling but does seem to be heavy to one side.

The left hand branch is thicker and I used a guy wire to bend it down. I was thinking I might cut back to the first node this fall and regrow this. Since the tree is at an angle, there is a branch at the same node of this that comes out on the lower side. Right now this kind of makes a wild squiggly mess. I am not sure if I should remove the lower one altogether.

Lastly, I'm wondering, if this was your tree would you reduce the top even further to create better taper? I went a little conservative but I wonder if that is holding the tree back from becoming a better tree. I'll also post a picture of the current back as this shows no scar from the paper boy incident of 2017. From this angle though, the trunk is leaning away from the viewer. But maybe if the trunk was reduced further, this could be retrained forward. Would love to hear thoughts and/or alternative plans for this tree. It's one of the first trees I ever purchased so it has some sentimental value.

Thank you!

p.s. The colander was a newbie mistake back in 2015, I don't use them for my maples anymore as they dry out way too quickly for me down here.

IMG_4198.JPGScreen Shot 2021-05-10 at 1.15.01 PM.png
tempImageF3FSER.jpgtempImageGBJrvE.jpg

Last edited:

Gert

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b