Japanese Maple too skinny to air layer?

Mycin

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
First off - I'm a gardener with some experience but a total beginner at bonsai. After killing two trees with overzealous pruning and repotting, I am now very nervous about making the wrong cut. I'm in Chicago and I think I still have time to start an air layer.

I picked up a Japanese Maple from a local bonsai nursery that they admitted had been somewhat neglected. The canopy is quite nice and the nursery owner suggested using it for an air layer. I thought it was a good idea at the time but now I'm second guessing myself.

I'm looking at the part of the trunk underneath the canopy (where the trunk splits in three), maybe 2-3" undeneath that part for the air layer? The trunk is approx 1/2" throughout and I'm worried that the canopy is too heavy for it. Should I prune some branches/foliage first? I was thinking of using a bamboo pole to support it.

g7qK7sw.jpg

SKKFpln.jpg

L4X1MxS.jpg

Also - can anyone please identify the second plant growing? I suspected it was a tree sapling of some sort so I left it with the intent of using it as a cutting. Thank you all for your help, I've never seen a forum where the members are both very knowledgeable and so helpful to beginners.

penumbra

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I think it is perfect for an air layer. The top is too heavy and there is not much taper. I see 2 trees when I look at this maple.
I don't think the small plant is a tree at all. It is probably a weed.

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
I'm in Chicago and I think I still have time to start an air layer.

I wouldn't. First, the tree isn't all that strong. Second, you're almost in July. I personally think it is late in the season for Chicago... but perhaps someone local has a different opinion.