japanese maples frozen in pots

Gilly

Seedling
Reaction score
so I'm new to this I hav about 6 bllodgood maples in my garage in pots that are insulated with leafs and pine needles surrounded by those leaf bags ,very cool but the pots seem to have frozen solid ! is this the end of my bonsai career before it began !!! :)

Dav4

Drop Branch Murphy
Reaction score
SE MI- Bonsai'd for 12 years both MA and N GA
USDA Zone
6a
so I'm new to this I hav about 6 bllodgood maples in my garage in pots that are insulated with leafs and pine needles surrounded by those leaf bags ,very cool but the pots seem to have frozen solid ! is this the end of my bonsai career before it began !!! :)
Nope... palmatums can stay in frozen soil all winter long as long as the soil temps stay at or above 15F.

Gilly

Seedling
Reaction score
ok good to know thanks dav4
can't wait to start learning more

rockm

Spuds Moyogi
Reaction score
USDA Zone
ok good to know thanks dav4
can't wait to start learning more
Would help tremendously if you would provide the region where you live. It's critical to have that to give accurate advice. What works in Florida won't work in Maine...
Tree roots freeze all the time in nature. It's the depth and length of the freeze that makes the difference for them. It's highly species dependent, each species of tree has its limits and its needs. For instance maples actually REQUIRE a period of cold dormancy to remain healthy. If they are not exposed to frost and freezing (within limits) they weaken and die...

D

Deleted member 21616