japanese maples

BK6

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
what type of soil do i wanna plant some japanese maples in, pre bonsai, that i plan to let grow for a few years?

can they be planted in the ground in ohio?

do they need to be potted and stored in shed for winter after they go dormant?

im new to this as you can tell, but i have a japanese maple tree on the way, about 18 inches tall.

Thanks in advance, Bryan Six

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
I have no idea what Ohio winter will be like so hope someone else can contribute re AP hardiness outdoors. Generally look round your neighborhood to see if any Japanese maples are growing in gardens. If they grow in gardens they will grow in the ground. If you can't see any that indicates they don't survive winter (or summer?) so plan on pots.
I use the same soil in grow pots and in bonsai pots - saves stocking different types and managing watering. Good bonsai soil only becomes important when we move to smaller, shallow pots so use any good potting soil for grow pots and adjust watering to suit.

Not every tree that is started turn out to b a show stopper. I'd always start with a few to allow for some that don't grow as expected.

BK6

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I have no idea what Ohio winter will be like so hope someone else can contribute re AP hardiness outdoors. Generally look round your neighborhood to see if any Japanese maples are growing in gardens. If they grow in gardens they will grow in the ground. If you can't see any that indicates they don't survive winter (or summer?) so plan on pots.
I use the same soil in grow pots and in bonsai pots - saves stocking different types and managing watering. Good bonsai soil only becomes important when we move to smaller, shallow pots so use any good potting soil for grow pots and adjust watering to suit.