Japanese Quince Nursery Find

Shogun610

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
Japanese Quince nursery find. Just don’t know what flower it is, they don’t remember it’s been all alone. Should I snag it ? Could be a cool clump , got older wood already too

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    283.2 KB · Views: 232
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    426 KB · Views: 203

Shogun610

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
Well I purchased it for 10 pretty good deal. Now to figure out what to do next, as I’m new to Quince but have been reading up on late summer / fall repotting but those professionals that discuss it are not in my zone. If not I wait till spring 😊 I’ll take it to the studio tom.

Last edited:

Colorado

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Nice! I love quince. The flowers are just my absolute favorite. They can be a little finicky but I love them anyway :)

QuantumSparky

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
Nice find! The trunk structure doesn't look all that great to me but then again I have an irrational dislike for anything which isn't a single trunk design :p

Shogun610

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
Nice find! The trunk structure doesn't look all that great to me but then again I have an irrational dislike for anything which isn't a single trunk design :p
They have the propensity to grow as a clump style since they produce new shoots that bark up quickly along the base .

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
Wire those branches when they are mere shoots. As you yourself pointed out, they grow multi-trunk, and it is hard to get any girth on a single trunk. They throw straight growth, and if you don't wire early, you'll be regretting it.

Shogun610

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B