Japanese White Pine questions on climate and cultivars

Africanherbman

Sapling
Reaction score
Hi,

I am brand new to bonsai so please excuse my ignorance.

I'm very interested in getting a young Japanese White Pine to train as a bonsai. I was looking online for some sources since I couldn't find them at local nurseries, (at least not yet). I can only find them on the Coniferkingdom website, which has a long list of cultivars. Would any variety or cultivar work for bonsai? Are some better for bonsai based on needle length, growth patterns, etc? Are there other sources I should look at?

And finally before I even get one, I live in the San Francisco bay area. I will be able to keep my plants outside, but we have a sort of Mediterranean climate here, not super sunny even in the summer, never gets too hot, never gets too cold, frequent fog. How will this species do in this climate? Would another pine species do better?

Thanks!

0soyoung

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
JWP is VERY CHALLENGING!!!

I suggest you start with something like JBP (pinus thunbergii). They are a bit more forgiving, fun because of candle pruning, and they grow fast. They are also often used as the root stock to which most short needled cultivars of pinus parviflora are grafted.

You can get nice seedlings/saplings from a number of places including @cmeg1 who will have some available on ebay this next April, IIRC. His signature (that appears at the end of any of his posts) has the link to his ebay store. Of course you can always PM him via a BNut Conversation (envelope icon, on the right side of the BNut menu bar).

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Got them Pango Scales!?

Whew! Crazy! Welcome!

Sorce

Adair M

Pinus Envy
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Check with Johnny Uchita at Grove Way Bonsai in Hayward. He usually has some JWP.

Leo in N E Illinois

The Professor
Reaction score
on the IL-WI border, a mile from ''da Lake''
USDA Zone
5b