Jasmine Bonsai- HELP- leaves look folded

Mlentijo

Seedling
Reaction score
Hello, I’m a beginner in the Bonsai world but I inherited an amazing collection of Bonsais from my mother in law who was a dedicated Bonsai expert for 30+ years. Unfortunately I didn’t have time to learn from her and I want to take really good care of her trees. One of the trees is a beautiful Jasmine. It seemed it was doing great and flowering until 2 days ago I noticed the leaves look folded.
I have him in direct Sun and I water him every day since I read they like water and sun. I live in Miami so it’s starting to get hot. Please take a look at the pictures I have attached. I’m really concerned since I don’t know if I have overwater or if he need more water. I fertilized him a couple days ago with organic fertilizer as well.

appreciate your help!!!!

Attachments

• F1B738AA-D44D-4489-B631-73C820B651ED.jpeg
    F1B738AA-D44D-4489-B631-73C820B651ED.jpeg
    136.9 KB · Views: 46
  • E73EF546-3E97-4C0E-893A-2802395ABC87.jpeg
    E73EF546-3E97-4C0E-893A-2802395ABC87.jpeg
    211.4 KB · Views: 46
  • 938C9535-4902-47DF-B567-C176F8CE11AE.jpeg
    938C9535-4902-47DF-B567-C176F8CE11AE.jpeg
    209.8 KB · Views: 44
  • 7E2753D9-BE8F-464C-B608-87339E307EF3.jpeg
    7E2753D9-BE8F-464C-B608-87339E307EF3.jpeg
    209.7 KB · Views: 46

SWfloirda

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
That is most likely wrightia religiosa, commonly called water jasmine. I don't have any experience with that particular species but a lot of my tropical trees have that folded up look when they are going through a growth spurt. Even though it is always warm here in Florida they still have a big spurt in spring.

Folded up leaves on a ficus can mean thrips but as far as I've seen thrips aren't a problem on wrightia religiosa.

Katie0317

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9B