JBP Pre-Bonsai Potential

CrisisM0de

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I recently ordered this JBP from House of Bonsai. I have not touched it as I am not exactly sure what I am supposed to do. I would like to try to make it into shohin, but I am curious what potential others might see as I am still learning. It would be very helpful to hear what experienced people would do and why. My understanding from reading is that I would probably want to bend the trunk much more drastically for shohin and the first set of branches would likely be the tree and everything above it sacrifice? It looks like they did an amazing job working with the tree already. It does look like all the buds were reduced to just one, which I thought was not good? Does this mean that in the spring I will decandle the branches I want in the end so that a new cluster of buds forms where there is now only one?

I am in West Michigan and it has been quite hot. I know that I should not wire until late autumn. It looks like bud selection was done already. Is there anything I am able to do now or is it a waiting game? I planned to move it into a pond basket in the spring.

I have been reading and I have been watching videos, but it is sooo much to take in. I don't want people to think I just want easy answers, I just want to know what others might do with this and why.

Attachments

• IMG_3901.jpg
    IMG_3901.jpg
    174.7 KB · Views: 160
  • IMG_3902.jpg
    IMG_3902.jpg
    181.7 KB · Views: 157
  • IMG_3903.jpg
    IMG_3903.jpg
    178.8 KB · Views: 116
  • IMG_3904.jpg
    IMG_3904.jpg
    209.1 KB · Views: 120
  • IMG_3905.jpg
    IMG_3905.jpg
    209.3 KB · Views: 112
Last edited:

Potawatomi13

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone