JBP Repotting

mapleX

Yamadori
Reaction score
Hi Guys, I live in the Southern Hemisphere and about 3 and a half months ago I repotting my black pine; My question is that because the repotting was performed almost outside the ideal season, the tree is showing the impact with a slowed growth although the acicles are well colored and the new growth is hardened. It is normal that the first year after repotting the Tree does not show its best health version?

Next spring could I begin to see a more significant recovery and growth?

As you must have noticed I have little experience with black pines, the repotting was performed not by me but by a professional in my area.The tree is about 50 years old and was very strong before the transplant.

I listen to any advice that can help me at this stage, a couple of weeks ago I started fertilizing it with hanagokoro in a mild dose.

Thank you!!
(and sorry for mi english)

Paradox

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Pictures?

Depends on the tree.
Yes a JBP can have some slower growth the year of a repot. However, I've had them come back like nothing happened.

If the trees is looking unhealthy besides slower growth, I might be more concerned.

Pictures would really help us to better see what you're talking about and give advice.

Is it actually showing growth?

My best advice without pictures is to monitor it carefully, watch the water. Don't let it dry out but don't let it be too wet either. I would not feed unless you see active growth.

Last edited:

mapleX

Yamadori
Reaction score
Pictures?

Is it actually showing growth?

I will try to upload some photos.

answering your question, yes, there is a visible growth in the tree; Slow but there it is.That slow growth accelerated when the tree moved from the shady location to the sun in the morning.