JBP seedlings growing medium

BMaags

Seedling
Reaction score
Hello I'm brand new to bonsai. I started with 20 JBP seeds in December and now I have 11 healthy seedlings that are ready to be transfered to actual pots. I have the pots, I was wondering what the best growing medium would be to transfer them to. I have spent some time searching the internet on this topic, but only found a few conflicting answers. Thanks in advance for any help.

pwk5017

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6/7
Are you able to water daily? If so, 100% pumice is a great medium for developing pines. If you live in extreme heat and dryness, then you can consider mixing pumice with bark.

Paulkellum

Mame
Reaction score
Hello I'm brand new to bonsai. I started with 20 JBP seeds in December and now I have 11 healthy seedlings that are ready to be transfered to actual pots. I have the pots, I was wondering what the best growing medium would be to transfer them to. I have spent some time searching the internet on this topic, but only found a few conflicting answers. Thanks in advance for any help.

Once you have the cuttings root they go in bonsai soil. Med size. Small will stay to wet and large with make roots thick. I use akadama,pumice,lava. You can put a plug of sand in pot where seedling is starting and it's roots will grow out into soil.

Telperion

Seedling
Reaction score
"I have the pots..."
What kind of pots?
It would be a mistake to put these seedlings in any kind of bonsai pot, unless you plan to live several centuries. A 1 gallon nursery pot would be find. Pumice is great. Fertilize aggressively.
Good luck,
Chris Kirk
Telperion Farms

BMaags

Seedling
Reaction score
Thanks for the quick responses!

Are you able to water daily? If so, 100% pumice is a great medium for developing pines. If you live in extreme heat and dryness, then you can consider mixing pumice with bark.