Juniper bonsai shaping-new to bonsai

Reaction score
Hey everyone! I am completely new to bonsai and I received this juniper (i believe) bonsai as a gift from my dad about a month and a half ago. He bought it from a lady selling them at a farmers market who told my dad the age of the tree, can't remember exactly, but know it is in the 5-7 yr range. Along with the bonsai, we got two bottles of "Green Green" fertilizer and care instructions. So far, i have been keeping the bonsai outside on my apartment patio facing southwest so it doesn't get the most direct sun in the early morning, but it does towards the afternoon. I had some issues in the beginning with browning needles (on the interior of the branches AND new growth tips) but i believe that was due to missed waterings??Correct me if I'm wrong pls! Aside from watering and giving the plant one bottle of the green green, i have not done anything else to the plant since i got it. My biggest grey areas are surrounding pruning, repotting, fertilizing, training, and timing. My biggest goal right now is to just keep it alive and healthy lol but i do find its current shape a little bit boring and would like to train the shape a little bit more down the road. That being said, should I let it grow without interference for a while longer or should i pruning it to maintain the shape? I have attached a couple pictures, let me know what you think about the shape. Also, how often does a juniper bonsai need to be repotted? As you can tell, I am just starting my bonsai journey and research so any info, advice, or words of wisdom would be much appreciated. Thanks!!

Bonsai 1.jpgBonsai 2.jpgBonsai 3.jpgBonsai 4.jpgBonsai 5.jpg

Housguy

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a