Juniper branches close together

Nj6964

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
I’m just getting into bonsai, I’ve pruned a small DAS and just bought my first junipers yesterday. In the store the branching looked solid but when I got it home I realized there was no leader-branch structure. All the branches come out from the same area. Sort of like this tree attached photo I saw online from Dallasbonsai.

My question is, what do you do to get it into a more proper shape? So far I’ve kept the large lower branches and wired the furthest branch along the trunk upright to become the leader. However, it looks like an upside down letter T because the lower branches and the “leader” are all the same size. I’ll add a photo of this shortly.

I understand it may take years to form a pleasing bonsai shape, but don’t see the path forward right now. Any advice is appreciated.

Attachments

• 68542441-5E1D-49B1-BC7C-8D3917EF73A7.jpeg
    68542441-5E1D-49B1-BC7C-8D3917EF73A7.jpeg
    262.6 KB · Views: 56

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
A T can always be wired to form a Y. That's just a simple example. A T can become an L as well. Or a V.
It all depends on what you have. If you want good advice, the forum will need a good picture of your tree.

It's hard to work in the dark.

Nj6964

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
Thanks for the welcome!!

Just ran out and took a photo of the tree. I know it’s tough to discern the depth of the branches. The one with wire is placed almost straight up. Then there are 3 side branches on the right, left and back left. If the front is 6 o’clock, the branches are at about 8, 11 and 3.

Attachments

• E35512C0-1531-46E1-9488-1636978237D6.jpeg
    E35512C0-1531-46E1-9488-1636978237D6.jpeg
    497.1 KB · Views: 55

Leo in N E Illinois

The Professor
Reaction score
on the IL-WI border, a mile from ''da Lake''
USDA Zone
5b