Juniper coming out of dormancy when to water?

power270lb

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
I'm in 7b, been 50-63 degrees for a ten days or so. Tree made it through my first Winter, I'm new to this so where do I go from here in regards to watering? All winter id use snow and ice cubes for a little bit of water but now I don't want to drown the roots. Also don't want it to dry out either.

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
Keep the soil moist, always. Never let it dry out bone dry - but you don't want it to be a swamp either. So much depends on the condition of your soil, and your container. A tree planted in good soil in a container with adequate drainage is almost impossible to drown - because water doesn't pool or sit. You want to water your tree and watch the water flow through the soil and out the bottom of the container, leaving wet (but not saturated) soil behind. Saturated means all dirt and water and "no air".

power270lb

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Where has it been, and where is it now?
Outside on a west facing balcony in a cold frame, still there. It's in a pot with pine needles for protection then in a larger box stuffed with pine needles. Since it's been warmer I've moved to middle of porch to get sun.

power270lb

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Keep the soil moist, always. Never let it dry out bone dry - but you don't want it to be a swamp either. So much depends on the condition of your soil, and your container. A tree planted in good soil in a container with adequate drainage is almost impossible to drown - because water doesn't pool or sit. You want to water your tree and watch the water flow through the soil and out the bottom of the container, leaving wet (but not saturated) soil behind. Saturated means all dirt and water and "no air".
It's in great soil and it drains quick. Just trying to get a jump on spring.

Bonsai Nut

Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a