Juniper communis - what to do

BonPiotr

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Hey,
I have recently grabbed simple cheap juniper communis from nursery and I’m thinking what to do with it or how to style it. I’m new to the hobby, but I want to try something on my own.

For now I have cut some branches to clear the trunk line and tidy things up and I think about semi cascade (tho i dont know if it will bend that much) or just leaving it be to grow more after wiring some branches and a little trunk bending. There’s also green garden wire just to make it more upright for now.

What do you think?

CECFAC82-C40F-42BC-B345-7A3285AC0DD6.jpeg8E8BF633-27F5-4075-87C6-1EDBDFB92AE5.jpeg5C6D7232-12F9-40E5-9305-AFAF0F3B5884.jpeg60E60CCC-BBF9-45EA-A0D3-C3E62204AFAF.jpeg768279B2-F2BA-47B7-945F-27E497A2AAA8.jpeg

tangledtanuki

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
As a beginner myself starting something like this from scratch is always interesting. My teacher has shown me and explains that you can create a juniper from a single branch basically and like a drawing you create a line that can twist. The other branches can also be bent and used to create those jins that the line can flow between.

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Junipers are generally quite bendable. They get hard pretty quick so the trunk could be hard to bend but you can get a surprising amount of bend without breaking if you do everything right and bend carefully.
If you want even more bend there's a technique of wrapping the trunk tightly with something (raffia is used traditionally but some have used rubber or PVC tape, etc) before wiring. The wrapping helps hold it together while bending so you can make even tighter bends.