Juniper for Xmas, now what?

BigJerm

Seed
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6A
I’m brand new to Bonsai and in over my head based on what I’ve learned with a few hours of research. My hope is to get enough advice to keep the tree alive while I continue to learn about proper care. Any guidance is very much appreciated. I just learned that it’s rather difficult for junipers to live inside (I thought it was supposed to live inside based on the 6 sentences of info that came with the tree) so my core question is, should I put it in my unheated garage in the (very) cold now to start the dormant period or will that be too much of a shock to the tree? I imagine that’s not a black and white question so here’s the background: I got the juniper 7 days ago and have kept it inside ever since, on a window sill and have watered every other day or so. I live in the Detroit MI area and it’s been very cold (highs barely in the teens (Fahrenheit) and lows in single digits. Next few days will be even colder (hi/lo: 14/2, 16/2, 7/-6, 5/-9, 10/0).

The tree seems fine but I did notice a handful of brown needles, and I’ve read that brown means dead. Not sure if my degree of brown is a concern but I’ve attached pictures. If it is a concern and there’s anything I can do, please advise.

I tracked down the tree I got which can be found here in case that’s helpful to know:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00K57JJ96/ref=cm_sw_r_sms_c_api_QcRsAbR4HEZAN

Please let me know if additional info/details would be helpful and thank you again for any guidance.

Attachments

• 2BC8472A-24B6-457C-9415-7EFA1CBD3C0D.jpeg
    2BC8472A-24B6-457C-9415-7EFA1CBD3C0D.jpeg
    305.3 KB · Views: 67
  • 46C74A6C-7176-4CF8-963F-161F8FCA2423.jpeg
    46C74A6C-7176-4CF8-963F-161F8FCA2423.jpeg
    333.3 KB · Views: 57
  • CC8AF0DE-B313-4F1E-8321-0976930122EA.jpeg
    CC8AF0DE-B313-4F1E-8321-0976930122EA.jpeg
    150.7 KB · Views: 55
  • 6AC6D13D-BB65-4C58-BE74-80E87C78C4B2.jpeg
    6AC6D13D-BB65-4C58-BE74-80E87C78C4B2.jpeg