Juniper Parsonii - First post

Floridays

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9B
Hey all, new member here!

Over the past few months I've been reading, searching and scouring various resources to learn about Bonsai - it's origins, philosophy and techniques.

So much to learn!

So I tried a young tree, a $5.00 Juniper parsonii from the Depot.

Here's what I attempted:

To have some trunk movement
To alternate branches
To avoid straight branches
To create an apex shape

Any thoughts or suggestions would be welcome...and I have thick skin.:D

Scott
From the store-
View media item 3624Pruning 1 -
View media item 3622Some wiring -
View media item 3623

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Welcome to Crazy!

Sorce

Floridays

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9B
Thanks! Posting this was unnerving...it's kind of like me starting to ride a bike while the Tour de France is going on around me. :D

sparklemotion

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
4b
I'm also a newbie, but here is some stuff that I have learned that you may want to consider:

What does it look like from the top? I (mostly) like the silhouette here, but from these pictures I can't tell whether the design is really 3 dimensional right now.

Related to that -- it would be nice to see pictures that aren't so backlit, to get a better sense of how the branches look as they leave the trunk.

What are some of your ideas for what you are hoping for the tree to do? I find it really helpful to see people's pictures of their trees where they've roughly sketched in (in MS Paint, or the like) some plan for future development.

What style are you going for with this tree? Obviously the formal styles are more like guidelines, really, but for newbies I think it is valuable to be able to say "my goal is an informal upright, but right now the tree needs X, Y, and Z to achieve that." Or, to say "My goal is an informal upright, but I really like this branch that is coming from the inside of this curve so I am working that in"