Juniper Pickle

DogDude

Seedling
Reaction score
I am a beginner to Bonsai, and the other day I picked up two Bonsai from our local town nursery. Once I got home I noticed a problem the pot that the Juniper is in has no drainage holes! Can I repot this tree out of season or will the likelihood of it surviving even less. This is an indoor tree, because where I live in NJ we have issues with soil black mold, I already lost one outdoor bush to it. So I don't even entertain exotic outdoor plants or trees, when we bought the house I had a tree that looked like a Japanese style outdoor tree near my stairs coming up to the house and I felt so bad because it was dying, and I tried everything to bring it back with no luck. Come to find out from one of my neighbors that the soil were we live is out of whack every year because we live on top a slight mountain, which with the rains all the nutrients in the lawns tend to run all down hill. So the people at the bottom of the hill/mountain have awesome lawns while we at the top have dried looking grass and no matter how much you water it, the grass tends to stay the same. I went as far as hiring a lawn guy to try and get it green, such an epic failure. So every year in order to keep my grass alive I am putting down lime to get the PH back to normal levels.

I have watered the Juniper but not to the standard because of this lack of drainage, I am really worried about the tree getting root rot because of this. Would it be safe for me to do a repot out of season?

Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b