Juniper prune back and wire

robin99

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
I’m quite new to bonsai and one of the plants I’ve gotten is the classic juniper that everyone goes for. I’ve wired it up and pruned in in the spring time and im using it as a learning tree as I go. Throughout the summer I’ve learned more and I think I have a better idea of the style that would suit it best. I want to get rid of a couple branches that aren’t the biggest but big enough and I was wondering if it safe to do so now or should I wait till late winter before the next push of growth comes.

QuantumSparky

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
I’m quite new to bonsai and one of the plants I’ve gotten is the classic juniper that everyone goes for. I’ve wired it up and pruned in in the spring time and im using it as a learning tree as I go. Throughout the summer I’ve learned more and I think I have a better idea of the style that would suit it best. I want to get rid of a couple branches that aren’t the biggest but big enough and I was wondering if it safe to do so now or should I wait till late winter before the next push of growth comes.
Do you have a picture of the tree and the branches that you are planning to remove?

Forsoothe!

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
Some pictures would help us comment. Growing seasons around the world vary widely and it is difficult to get a perspective on what someone says when we don't know where in the world they are. If you go to the upper right hand corner and click on your Icon, you can add your location and people will be able to customize advice for you, and you might connect with another local.

<<<<< It will show here.

robin99

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b