JWP first step transformation to Bonsai

Jyy

Seedling
Reaction score
Recently bought this JWP and wish to seek advice to draw up plan to transform into Bonsai. I am new to Bonsai.

15D718AB-C916-4B60-8772-155CE1AE9AD4.jpegF778DA8F-32DD-4771-B11F-15FFDDBD4C42.jpegDF99D8D1-8A62-40CB-9099-79C3EA827C24.jpeg7271DD24-06FB-4307-93D4-E2DE4B188EBC.jpeg

leatherback

The Treedeemer
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hi Jyy,

welcome to the forum. If you go to your profile, and insert your location, people can help you with more pointed information!

I like your tree, but will for now leave it at that. I have no noteworthy experience with JWP.

Reactions: Jyy

Shogun610

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
Look for a line in the tree, start wiring at the base and go from there. I always just thin out some shoots that are running into eachother and pointing down.

Potawatomi13

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Just a small information. Tree is grafted likely onto Japanese Black Pine. Base is fairly big. That is normally good however base is awkward from presented angle and base will outgrow rest of tree as well as bark not matching. Somehow that must be hidden/deemphasized in development or display of tree. Sorry for bad news. However will leave actual tree development advice to Japanese White Pine keepers;).

Jyy

Seedling
Reaction score
Thanks all the sharing the knowledge. Yeah, the root bark did looks out of line with the tree..

I have inserted my location on the profile..

Adair M

Pinus Envy
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Just a small information. Tree is grafted likely onto Japanese Black Pine. Base is fairly big. That is normally good however base is awkward from presented angle and base will outgrow rest of tree as well as bark not matching. Somehow that must be hidden/deemphasized in development or display of tree. Sorry for bad news. However will leave actual tree development advice to Japanese White Pine keepers;).