JWP questions

Adriaan de Beer

Seedling
Reaction score
Good day.
My name is Adriaan. I am new to Bonsainut. Fantastic forum.
I live in Johannesburg South Africa.
Been doing bonsai for 10years now so still a novicešŸ˜¬
I mainly keep pine and maples.
My USDA zone is 10.
I have a few questions that I can not seem to get good answers for regarding JWP.

1.Is it impossible to keep JWP long term if your winters are not cold enough? Where I am it is 1-5degree C at night and 12-18 degrees C during the day on average in winter.
If not, what exactly is the problem? As I understand that the roots need to be below -2degree C for about 8weeks in winter. Why is this?
Could one overcome this by keeping the trees in a walkin freezer in winter for this amount of time?

2. Does this dormancy apply even more so for non grafted JWP?
I have kept grafted JWP for 7 years and they seem fine.

3. Is non grafted JWP foliage more sensitive to intense sunlight than the grafted trees and are their roots more sensitive to overheating than the grafted trees?

4. Is it accurate to say that one only waters a non grafted JWP once the weeds in the pot starts to wilt?
If yes, does this apply all year round? If I follow this method I only water my non grafted tree about every 10 daysšŸ˜³

Thank you. Looking forward to your responses.

Adair M

Pinus Envy
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
1). JWP are mountain trees. Which means they can tolerate colder temperatures, and in fact need cool winters. You could try using a refrigerator for maybe a month, but be sure it doesnā€™t dry out.

2). Depends on the root stock.