Kanorin's "Azalea 2020-2025" entry

Kanorin

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I'm a beginner, but I thought this contest would be a neat learning experience. Advice welcome!

I picked up this "Tradition Azalea" this weekend.
IMG-1541.jpg
I'm thinking this could make a neat twin-trunk style trunk line.
IMG-1541_tt.jpg

Kanorin

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Turned out there were 3 separate plants in the nursery container. Putting 2 of them into pots (1 for me, 1 for my 5 year old son). Took off some of the deep roots, removed most of the nursery soil and separated the plants.

My son chose this one to work with:
IMG-1619.jpg

This one is for me. For the second trunk of the twin, should I keep trunk #1, #2, or #3?
IMG-1621.jpg

View a few degrees clockwise

IMG-1620.jpg
Thanks in advance!

Leo in N E Illinois

The Professor
Reaction score
on the IL-WI border, a mile from ''da Lake''
USDA Zone
5b
The normal time for cut back is after 2/3rds of the flowers have been open a few days. Get the "Peak Bloom" photo, then it is time to remove all the flowers. All the unopened buds. Then you give the azalea a dose of fertilizer (normal strength, nothing stronger than normal). Then a few days later you repot and prune back. Since you already repotted, it is time to prune.

Satsuki azalea, and most azalea have a flush of vegetative growth right after blooming. You prune immediately after pruning to take advantage of this flush of new growth.

Then in late summer, early autumn, you go through and remove excess branches produced during the summer. At points were 3 or more branches come from one point, reduce to 2. Usually by autumn you will be able to feel or see the new flower buds for the next year. If the tree is in early phases of development you may want to remove some, so as to not tax the strength of the azalea. In a azalea being prepped for show, you can thin the number of buds if it seems excessive, or remove poorly placed buds.