karen82 "This is Not a Contest" CO Blue Spruce

USDA Zone
I'm pretty new to bonsai, I tried some trees years ago, but didn't really know what I was doing at all, and they died over winter one year. I just became interested again last summer.

This is my CO blue spruce, still buried in the vegetable garden for the winter. I picked it up cheap at a nursery last summer for $10. It looks pretty sad right now.
3-22-18 (2).JPG

This is what it looked like when I bought it, and a close up of the trunk and where I planned to cut it at the time:
8-17-17.JPG 8-17-17 front 2.JPG

I waited until fall to cut it. I picked the tree because it was cheap and had nice bark, but I didn't know anything about spruce when I got it. I realize now that they don't like to have much work done and shouldn't have more than 50% of foliage removed at one time, and need a growing season to recover from anything major. Just lopping off that top section was more than 50% of its foliage, so I didn't dare do anything more with it.
10-17-17.JPG

I'm kind of unsure what to do with this tree. I left that thick knob of the old trunk on and I know it needs to be carved down, but I'm thinking that should wait until next fall or winter.
In a few weeks, I will dig it out and remove loose soil and try to get it into a pond basket without barerooting. After that, from what I've read, it should get a good 6 months to recover and then I can do some work on it in fall if it's healthy.

USDA Zone
7a
Could probably loose those branches coming out right at the soil level.. Would definitely help visualize it better.

Also, that top nub..I would think should cut that down at an angle to the side branch to create natural transition/curve..if not now, you will have to later right?

Same with the knob at your big chop..unless you’re going for deadwood or hoping for backbudding there or something.

I dunno..my very green thoughts.

USDA Zone