Kozan Satsuki

JudyB

Queen of the Nuts
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I recently picked up this nice compact Kozan Satsuki. I've been eyeing these for a few years, but never found one that I had to have that wasn't a monster tree. This one is certainly big enough and impactful. I can't wait to see it flower. I wanted a Kozan as they are said to be a bit easier, and I love the simple flowers. The small leaves are a bonus! This will look great even out of flower. I would love to find a good book about these, but seems like they don't really exist (unless you want to spend as much on a book as a tree, lol) I'm going to hit Brian up for some info he has and I've been reading a lot about what to do when...

I will look for a new pot this winter for this, I'm not a huge fan of drum pots. I like the idea of a square with rounded corners, something like the pot I've attached, but without a flared lip. This pot is a Rayner, so I'll probably put this up for sale. It's 15" outside dims., would trade if anyone has anything like what I'm looking for. I would do a dull darker blue with this if I go glazed.

I'll be looking for info if anyone has blogs to point me at!
P1020507.jpgP1020509.jpgP1020510.jpgP1020511.jpgP1020513.jpgs-l1600.jpg

coh

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Mmmm, nice one! I'm thinking more and more about adding a satsuki to my collection, I think I'd prefer one with more color to the flowers but nothing really fancy or frilly. Looking forward to seeing this in bloom!

JudyB

Queen of the Nuts
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
more color to the flowers
I figure that if I really wind up liking this species, I'll get into the more colorful ones as well. I like the single flower types much better than the frilly edge and doubles too.

LanceMac10

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Very impressive trunk and root character!! Crown area looks "awkward" in the last two photos...is that the back image?

Not a Rayner fan?