Leaves dropping from my wisteria?

mister_project

Seedling
Reaction score
Hi All,
I'm very new to bonsai and apologize if this is a dumb question or it has an obvious answer. I searched the forums and other resources before coming here, but I didn't find specifically what I was looking for. I'm hoping someone here can help me before it's too late for my wisteria.

I purchased the plant locally at the beginning of last winter. I live near Seattle in zone 8b. I immediately put it into a 1 gallon bucket, as I've read that can help the root and trunk structure grow more desirably. I tried to disturb the root structure as little as possible given my timing with it. I also put fine sawdust shavings over the soil and placed it in a dish with some water in the bottom so the soil could wick moisture up as desired. I kept the water level pretty low to make sure that the roots were all above it and the plant wouldn't drown since I realize too much water is a bad thing. I put all of that into my garage, which stays around 40F-45F at night in the winter. The plant seemed to do just fine but did start budding around a month ago. I thought that was pretty early, but wasn't sure if that meant I failed to hit dormancy or if the plant was just letting me know it was ready to come out. In my experience, plants in Seattle do some odd things and bloom earlier than other locations so I didn't think about it too much.