Leggy Mugo Pine

parvae_arbores

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
I rescued this mugo pine from my landscape last year and stuck it in a pot at the end of the summer last year after it died back about 60%. I have never worked with these before but I am having analysis paralysis on how to deal with the 4 equal size branches coming out of the trunk. My immediate instinct is to wire it open a bit and fertilize hard to see what kind of back budding I get this growth season before trying branch selection and wiring. I put a drawing of what I think the end structure should look like and I plan to cut off all but one of these branches at some point. Since I have never worked with mugo I was wondering if someone had any advice on when to cut this back. Is it better to cut these back to a bud lower on the trunk across the whole tree and let it grow? Should I cut back to a single leader and wire aggressively (also when on this species).

Attachments

• PXL_20210302_014938767.jpg
    PXL_20210302_014938767.jpg
    227.4 KB · Views: 129
  • PXL_20210302_014945384.jpg
    PXL_20210302_014945384.jpg
    244.5 KB · Views: 87
  • PXL_20210302_014951022.jpg
    PXL_20210302_014951022.jpg
    259.1 KB · Views: 78
  • PXL_20210302_014956108.jpg
    PXL_20210302_014956108.jpg
    251.7 KB · Views: 76
  • PXL_20210302_015013262.jpg
    PXL_20210302_015013262.jpg
    233.8 KB · Views: 70
  • PXL_20210302_015028771.NIGHT.jpg
    PXL_20210302_015028771.NIGHT.jpg
    254.9 KB · Views: 67
  • PXL_20210302_014938767 copy.jpg
    PXL_20210302_014938767 copy.jpg
    228.9 KB · Views: 120

Paradox

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Cutting back branches to a point where there is no foliage below it will most likely kill the branch.