Lemon tree.

c54fun

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I decided to grow a lemon tree last year. Will never be a bonsai but wanting to end up in a 5 gallon container. Its been growing a lot this winter in the green house. Was just out there watering and noticed all the boogies are getting ready to flower and then noticed something on the lemon tree. Looks like a flower? Maybe will turn into a lemon? I have zero knowledge of a lemon tree but its so cool for me to see it doing something. It was very slow to get growing but seems to be working now.
20170704_184013 (Small).jpg
20180105_105126 (Small).jpg
20180105_105023.jpg

Carol 83

Flower Girl
Reaction score
I have a regular lemon, and a Meyer lemon. Don't the flowers smell wonderful? Yes, the flowers will turn into lemons, probably not all of them. I have never successfully harvested a ripe lemon though. Squirrels snip them off just to be assholes, them leave them lay.

c54fun

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I have a regular lemon, and a Meyer lemon. Don't the flowers smell wonderful? Yes, the flowers will turn into lemons, probably not all of them. I have never successfully harvested a ripe lemon though. Squirrels snip them off just to be assholes, them leave them lay.
I think this is a Meyer lemon. It so cool seeing it do something new. At first I thought it would take years before it would fruit. I have hope now. I plan to up pot it each spring until its into a nice looking 5 gallon container. I haven't smelled the flower yet but will do. I've trimmed it a few times to get it to bush out and its cool when you smell the clippings. Just like a lemon. Tried making some lemon tea from the leaves but it wasn't good at all.

Carol 83

Flower Girl
Reaction score
I have a Calamondin orange too, just for fun. It produces a lot more fruit than the lemon, and squirrels don't bother them. But the fruit is really sour.

plant_dr

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Did you grow this from seed?

just.wing.it

Deadwood Head