Liquid fertilizer killing moss?

Yugen

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9A
I burn moss with one application of miracle grow at the rates I apply it.
If you're worried about pretty moss,don't.
No need for moss.
In fact the only time a tree should have it on the substrate is for showing.
It can actually hinder air flow through the substrate.
You're in this for the trees not the moss.
I dont understand how moss can be so detrimental to root air flow. I have several trees that are fully mossed up and I have no loss of water percolation and therefore no loss of air flow. Even IF the water has a hard time moving down, why would air? Those big holes in the bottom of the pot will not keep much water between the rocky "soil". Air can enter through the bottom as well and penetrate up, no?

Last edited:

Schmikah

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Source,

Look, I've been doing this for going on 25 years. I've used just about every "natural" fert around, as well as the chemical stuff. One is not any better than the other. One is DEFINITELY more expensive than the other -- on average "natural" stuff brings a higher price tag for less immediate results.

Ryan Neil says a lot of stuff. I tend to take a lot of it with a grain of salt. Seen him in demos. He's very engaging in person. Knows what he's talking about. But he has very little experience with species and practices outside of the Northwest. Some of his advice on some things, is, well, a bit bent towards his particular way of growing things. What works for him in the PNW, doesn't cut it in other locations. Moss (FWIW), doesn't "die" here in the south in full sun. It goes dormant turning brown and crispy in the sun for the summer. Trying to keep it "alive" in that time is futile and will kill the tree beneath it, for the most part. It comes back in the fall as it cools off and rain returns.