Literati Japanese Red Pine attempt

Shun

Mame
Reaction score
Hello guys as some of you know I ended up buying a JRP to try and make a literati styled bonsai.. I'm still very new to the bonsai world (started about 1 year) and have a lot of things I've yet to learn.. So please be patient with me hahaha!

This is the topic in which I asked for help in choosing the 'right' candidate: http://www.bonsainut.com/threads/heavy-bends-on-japanese-red-pine.25459/

And I bought the #2 pine which is this one:
pre-bonsai-pinheiro-vermelho-10-anos.jpg

Right now here in Brazil we are in the middle/end of spring so nothing to do right now on pines (right?) but I wanted to show a small video of the root base I've got in this tree.. Scraped the top layer of soil to uncover the base to have a look.. The base is around 3 inches in size
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="
" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

What I firstly want to do is to repot it (lots of healthy white roots tips on it circling around the pot) into a colander.. That procedure is done by the end of winter just when the tree is waking up, is that correct?
I ask this because in some points there is a (to me) long neck on the new growth that I'm no too pleasant about because I believe I already have the right elongation of branches to start building up the structure

IMG_20161204_224703565_TOP_zpsbcotlsws.jpg

So my question begins with: Since I'm going to repot it is it prudent to decandle it? What I've read about pines is one procedure per year so the year you're repotting you don't mess around with the tree... I also had some scale insets on it but I believe i resolved the issue and the pine looks to be healthy overall.. Should that stop me from repotting next winter?

And style-wise I plan on removing and jinning / shari on the first stub on the first curve and the second curve also removing the branches but maybe only making a small jin over there..