Live Oak Anyone?

TooCoys

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
Found this little guy growing in palm stuff. Comes from the live oak right behind our RV. Wonder what I can do with it, besides put it in a pot to grow out before transplanting on the family farm.

E26C53DC-47A0-42A9-BEB9-CF97D4AA50DF.jpeg9A400640-88A3-4FAC-B65B-667E568C428D.jpegBEF38841-DEBC-484C-8B72-DC603D90856C.jpeg

rockm

Spuds Moyogi
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Found this little guy growing in palm stuff. Comes from the live oak right behind our RV. Wonder what I can do with it, besides put it in a pot to grow out before transplanting on the family farm.

View attachment 200323View attachment 200324View attachment 200325

Best to start with something a little larger if you want an "oaky" bonsai within your lifetime...Below is a Live oak (quercus fusiformis) bonsai I've been working for 20 years or so. Original Stock collected near Salado, Texas in 1990. Trunk was already 200 or more years old. A seedling like that will take some time...:)

Attachments

• livoak.jpg
    livoak.jpg
    122.5 KB · Views: 183

TooCoys

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
Trunk was already 200 or more years old. A seedling like that will take some time...:)

I’m sure! These things tend to love forever. They are everywhere in South Louisiana where I’m from. Most are in the historic register and have plaques and everything.

my nellie

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
... ...Below is a Live oak (quercus fusiformis) bonsai I've been working for 20 years or so. Original Stock collected near Salado, Texas in 1990. Trunk was already 200 or more years old... ...
What a tree!
May I ask is there a thread for this here on BNut?

RobertB

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Are they really that slow growing? I have a small seedling too on the bench I started this yr. it's a whopping 6 inches tall.

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a