Looking for advice about my yamadori/pre-bonsai hunting

Dauber

Seedling
Reaction score
I am new to bonsai and I am looking for some advice on some material. I'm not too concerned with species at this point, I'm just trying to get the hang of spotting a good "guinea pig" or two. Following are some pictures of what I considered to be potential "successes". Although, I admit that I'm not doing this to succeed. Anyway, I would appreciate some advice. Are any of these trees workable? Would any of you consider these trees to be good "guinea pigs" for me? Do you see potential? Or am I blinded by excitement for my newfound interest? Thanks!

20181229_160244[1].jpg
Beech Tree. The trunk is about 5ish inches in diameter, it has 4 or 5 new "trunks". The main section of the trunk is split down the middle, which is strange.
20181229_160209[1].jpg
A better view of the cleft down the middle.
20181229_141856[2].jpg
Paper Birch.
20181229_141835[1].jpg

20181228_151835[1].jpg
Eastern Hemlock. There were a bunch of these that had been hack up by road crews(?) and munched on by deer. I'm hoping to find a couple to bring home. There were a few Eastern White Pines too. 20181229_141741[1].jpg
Black Birch. These were scattered all over the place.
20181229_141729[1].jpg
Pretty neat looking trunk. Healthy little trees, they're in a rough spot lol.

20181228_142405[1].jpg
Beavers have been munching on some Red Maple(?) next to a lake. Have they been preparing some pre-bonsai for me?
20181228_142048[1].jpg

Dauber

Seedling
Reaction score
Sorry, I should've posted this in the "New to Bonsai" section.

Dauber

Seedling
Reaction score
I thought so too. In the past week, my eyes have been drawn to Nebaris and trunk lines like they are usually drawn to shiny and bouncy objects. Will this wear off? lol.

Potawatomi13

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone