Looking for some guidance in Kansas

Garret k

Seedling
Reaction score
Hello, I'm very new to Bonsai. I have 3 plants (Gifted, or store bought.) I Love to take care of them, however, it's just not enough. What I would like to do is go into the woods and collect my own tree/s and try to raise/train my own. I am in search of guidance of what would be the best tree for me that is local to Kansas. Some native trees here are, Maples, Walnut, Red Cedar (don't see many,) Willows, Oaks, and other types of Juniper relatives. I kind of like leaf trees better, but am not opposed to conifers. My dream project would be some sort of multi tree forest type of bonsai (this seems very hard.) Also I know that getting a tree from the wild will take years to develop, that's exactly what I want.

What I am after
1. A kind of starter tree to work with
2. Something I can get locally (I don't want to buy a 20-30$ tree to end up killing it)
3. What size of a tree should I chose? A sapling? or more developed 2+ inch base?
4. Are there any good guides that show you what to do when training a tree from wild? I cannot seem to find anything that goes in depth on this subject
5. Any other suggestions on a project that I could start?

Thanks in advance for the help, so far this community feels awesome just from lurking in the forums and the couple of posts I've made so far

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
4. Are there any good guides that show you what to do when training a tree from wild? I cannot seem to find anything that goes in depth on this subject

Bonsai4me.com

Google Walter Pall youtube videos. Watch em all.

Google Mirai live....watch em all.

Google Bjorn or Bonsai art of Japan....
Grab some snacks...watch em all.

Every tree is different so you gotta piece together info from here and there.

A search of collecting here should net you some good info.

We got a good gang of successful collectors.

If you're up for long term projects....