Lost 6 Trees in this last storm

Rfarrell5888

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5B
During the last big storm we had up here in New England. I lost six beautiful Japnese Maples and Larch. A tree went down in my back yard and crushed my small greenhouse. Has anyone else lost there babies to the weather this year? I'll post some pics for the obituaries soon.

JeffS73

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Had an azalea snapped off by snow/wind, was growing in the ground. One of the healthier ones, sad, been there 5 years thickening up.

JonW

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Oh no! I'm sorry.

I keep mine under my storm doors (bulkhead door) to my basement - it stays 32-40 degrees most of the winter (mid forties at the start and end of winter). I keep considering moving some hardier trees outside for winter, but I worry about critters, thieves, and weather.

When I was a gigging musician, I left from a show to house sit for my parents during a storm. Before I could unload my car, a 5-foot wide oak fell, totaled my car and broke my guitar.

Rfarrell5888

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5B
Oh no! I'm sorry.

I keep mine under my storm doors (bulkhead door) to my basement - it stays 32-40 degrees most of the winter (mid forties at the start and end of winter). I keep considering moving some hardier trees outside for winter, but I worry about critters, thieves, and weather.

When I was a gigging musician, I left from a show to house sit for my parents during a storm. Before I could unload my car, a 5-foot wide oak fell, totaled my car and broke my guitar.
Oh no. You must have been furious!! I'm really sad right now about losing them. 3 of them were passed down from my Grandfather. He did a lot of Yamadori. He found three Larch in marsh at the base of a mountain in New Hampshire. I actually cried over a tree 😃 Its crazy but the time and effort that goes into them makes you love them.

Reaction score
USDA Zone
5A