Lurker Gone Legit

ShadyStump

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Just saying hello, and introducing myself. I've been aching to get into bonsai since I was first introduced to the concept as a little kid, but my parents didn't approve/take me seriously. So, flash forward a few decades and it's been fifteen or sixteen years since I tried growing a tree, and I'm in full obsessive mode now trying to make up for lost time, with the support of my wife surprisingly enough. Got back into it about a year ago.
I apparently have a penchant for doing things the hard way, starting with pinyon pines- I love the things. Can't seem to keep them alive for the life of me, damned transplant shock. So, anyone with some tips for a newb on an EXTREMELY TIGHT BUDGET, I'm all ears.
Don't expect me to be all over the place around here- I'm a lurker by profession- but I've come across enough info and humor that it seemed worthwhile to come out of the shadows.
Thanks for everything ahead of time.

HorseloverFat

Squarepants with Conkers
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
*Monotone chanting*

ONE OF US! .....ONE OF US! ;)

Greetings! Let us frolic uproariously within the Tiny Forest.

Pinyon Pines, eh! .... I am NOT the right “mafck” to pass along guiding information. But never fear! These halls are virtually “lined” with interesting and knowledgeable individuals. (I’m assuming that you are already aware of this :) )

Just “George of the Jungle”ing through...... yelling;..

Pleasure to make your acquaintance!

HorseloverFat

Squarepants with Conkers
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
As far as the EXTREMELY tight budget.. I most infuriatingly “feel you”...

Big yogurt containers have helped me (and my pocket) quite extensively.

Rainwater collection has done the same for “me and my pocket”.

The utilization of Diatomaceous Earth as a substrate component... ditto.