luvinthemountains cork bark elm

Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
This is the tree I haven't stopped thinking about since I heard it was for sale. It is a cork bark elm of unknown variety, purchased around 2018 at Telperion Farms by the BCU member I got it from. It stands about 26 inches from the pot rim. I am told it needs a repot this year.

In some sense this tree exceeds my experience, so any input or coaching would be welcomed.

20230126_124205.jpg

Colorado

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Hell yeah! What a tree!

I have no experience with cork bark elm, but I believe it is well known that cork bark cultivars can be less vigorous than the species. I’d take it pretty easy on this tree for the first year or so until you see how it responds to being in your garden. I don’t think it needs any drastic work. Personally, I’d just focus on building branch taper and ramification. Looks like the bones are all there.

GGB

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
best way to learn is to challenge yourself. I like that tree a lot. Hear about them shedding branches also, if I were you I'd figure out what causes that and how to avoid it. @davetree never heard that before but I think that's why a lot of trees shed branches. Seems easy enough to avoid if that's all it is

Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Seems like cork bark elms will shed lower branches when the top gets too heavy.

Thanks for the heads up. I will start doing some research on that topic. Once I have the hang of the maintenance pruning, I will dive in with the structural corrections. Well, dip my toe in, anyway. The tree does not need that much of it right now.

BobbyLane

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
Never known them to drop lower branches tbh, ive had quite a few, never heard this before.
Just treat it as any other elm, theyre just as prolific and will back bud profusely after pruning.
any tree, if the top is allowed to get too heavy will shade out lower branches.