Maintaining shape of mature Fukien Tea

Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Hi! I am new to bonsai and was gifted a beautiful Fukien Tea two months ago. It’s a mature tree so the style is established and foliage is quite dense, glossy, and healthy, but I’m finding myself ayt a loss as to how to how often to trim it to maintain the shape.

Thank you for your help!

Attachments

• 5BAB2586-9A7A-468D-B27F-33FE9837B4ED.jpeg
    5BAB2586-9A7A-468D-B27F-33FE9837B4ED.jpeg
    216 KB · Views: 72

ShadyStump

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Bump
To avoid having a million similar threads in the future, one of them being mine.

Also, @threelittlelights13, if you can add a general location and/or USDA growing zone to your profile, people here will be able to tailor their advice to your climate and situation.

SWfloirda

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
I'll follow this too. I've had one for three years. The first year it had crazy growth with all kind of wild shoots. I repotted it the next year and since then it flowers almost daily, looks healthy but doesn't really grow much. Kept outside in South Florida. We had a cold snap and some growth got a bit browned up. I plan to clean it up some this weekend. I'll post if I do.

Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Hi! Thank you ShadyStump! I am in zone 7a, Long Island, New York. Our climate is somewhat temperate and it tends to be humid often. We have an older home and can definitely feel some of the outdoor weather conditions indoors. This tree is tucked in a corner with a stable temperature, indirect natural light, and a grow light for 10 hours per day, all of which seem to be working well for this tree. It needs water about every 2-3 days.

SWflorida, I’m glad to hear your FT is doing well! I have read a lot about these trees being very difficult, so it’s encouraging to hear that one is going strong. Hope you have nice weather for the rest of winter! Cold snaps are frustrating.

ShadyStump

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score