Maintenance pruning

Kae

Seedling
Reaction score
So, I'm looking for some basic advice on pruning. I'm a beginner.

First, I've looked at many videos online and even read a book I have on bonsai, but most of the advice on pruning out there seems to be what to do when the plant is really wildly grown and how to bring it down to a more bonsai-level.

I'm looking for specifically how to prune those small sprouts that come here and there and how to keep the leaves small. I'm talking about the details and the everyday (or something like every week, actually) pruning.

In the pictures are a couple of ficus trees I have that grow pretty easily and actively. For the tree on the left, the branches are pretty much where I want them, but the leaves are a bit too big. As you can see on the tree on the right, the branch to the right has pretty nice, thick growth of leaves of a size I like. I want to get the other branches there. Which sprouting branches would you cut and where?

Thanks beforehand for your replies!

Attachments

• ficus2.jpg
    ficus2.jpg
    106.1 KB · Views: 23
  • ficus1.jpg
    ficus1.jpg
    104.4 KB · Views: 21

leatherback

The Treedeemer
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I think you will find it much easier to work the trees when they are healthier, which means, let them grow. All bonsai need aphase of good growth and then be brought back. Most of the year trees look scruffy.

As for reducing leaves.. That will happen as the tree ramifies. Forramification you need absolute health, after which you can prune growing tips and leaves so budding occurs on the branches.

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Welcome to Crazy!

Sorce

Reactions: Kae

Paradox

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I am going to echo what Leatherback stated.
This tree needs to grow and increase the number of shoots and leaves before you should be pruning it back.
As it is, there isnt enough to prune.

Kae

Seedling
Reaction score